Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

SC Arts Commision Grants Awards

SC Arts Commission
Announces Artist Fellowships For 2008

The South Carolina Arts Commission Board of Commissioners has approved the agency’s 2008 Individual Artist Fellowship Awards. Beginning this year, each Fellow receives $5,000 in recognition of their superior artistic merit. Alternates have also been named in each category.


This year’s Fellows and alternates are:

Craft: Jamie Davis, Pickens County
John Benjamin Gilliam, Greenville County
James D. Connell, York County
Philip C. Hultgren, Kershaw County
Visual Arts: Elizabeth Melton, York County
Herb Parker, Charleston County
Aldwyth, Beaufort County
Marcelo Novo, Richland County
Media Production: Laura Kissel, Richland County
Bradley Turner Jayne, Charleston County
Screenwriting: Howard Kingkade, Richland County
Gordon Nolan Owens, Greenville County

Fellows and alternates are selected through a competitive, anonymous application process. Out-of-state review panelists make recommendations for selections based solely on a review of work samples. The panel's recommendations are approved by the board of the SC Arts Commission.


Individual artists working in prose, poetry, music performance or music composition are invited to apply for the 2009 Fellowships. The deadline to apply is October 1.