Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

SC Arts Commision Grants Awards

SC Arts Commission 2013 Fellowship Judges


Earl S. Braggs is the Herman H. Battle Professor of African American Studies of English at the University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, TN. He teaches creative writing, poetry, African American literature, and Russian literature. He is the author of six collections of poetry and a chapbook. His latest book is Younger Than Neil (Anhinga Press 2009). Braggs is the recipient of the Anhinga Poetry Prize, the Jack Kerouac Literary Prize, and the Gloucester Country College Poetry Prize. His novel, Looking for Jack Kerouac, was a finalist in the James Jones First Novel Contest. His teaching awards include the UTNAA Outstanding Teacher Award and two Student Government Association Outstanding Professor awards. He received an MFA from VermontCollege.



A. J. Verdelle is a distinguished faculty mentor in the MFA Creative Writing Program at Lesley University, Cambridge, MA. She is author of The Good Negress and other academic and nonfiction works. She is currently at work on two novels (one of which is scheduled to be published in 2013), a short biography of Benjamin Banneker, and a handbook on revision for student writers, titled Punch & Beauty. She is recipient of the Vursell Distinguished Fiction Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; Whiting Award in fiction; Bunting Fellowship; NEA Critical Studies Award; finalist for PEN/Faulkner Award; Los Angeles Times Book Prize; and the IMPAC/Dublin International Book Prize. She previously taught at Princeton University and holds an MFA from Vermont College.


Dance Choreography:

Anna Leo is Associate Professor of Dance at Emory University in Atlanta, GA since 1993. She received her Master of Fine Arts degree from Ohio State. She has taught and choreographed at colleges and universities in the U.S., and in studios and theaters in Canada and Germany. She has been a National Endowment for the Arts Choreography fellowship recipient, and in 1997 received the Emory College Excellence in Teaching Award. She incorporates yoga principles into much of her studio teaching. Her current teaching areas include modern and ballet techniques, dance history, solo composition, and a seminar on the history, philosophy and practice of yoga.