South Carolina Arts Commission

Create: Rural SC

The S.C. Arts Commission’s work in the first six counties served by Art of Community – Rural SC led to a new venture. Create: Rural SC was launched in summer 2018 with a newly formed team of creative professionals discovered through the work in those counties and it is an extension of Art of Community. To fuel local connection and discovery, the Arts Commission enlisted the help of 12 “creative connectors” who sought creative contacts across Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper counties.

Visual artist Ment Nelson of Hampton County serves as the local coordinator and liaison for the following ‘creative connectors:’

  • Marcus Johnson (Allendale)
  • Shakora Bamberg (Bamberg)
  • Naviree Johnson (Bamberg)
  • James Wilson (Bamberg)
  • Terrance Washington (Barnwell)
  • Bobby Harley (regional)
  • Ian Dillinger (Colleton)
  • Tamara Herring (Jasper)
  • Joanna Brailey (Jasper)
  • Amanda Whiteaker (regional)
  • Ashley Jordan (regional)

Together, they built a network of young creatives making names for themselves in their rural communities instead of leaving for larger, urban locales. The program is funded in part by grants from USDA-Rural Development as well as from a Neighborworks America grant won by Center for a Better South.