South Carolina Arts Commission

South Carolina Arts Commission

Staff

Whom we serve

Program directors and coordinators on the Arts Commission’s team of arts professionals are assigned to specific lines of service or programs that can provide targeted help to South Carolina’s:

  • artists,
  • community arts providers,
  • educational institutions and arts education providers,
  • and local communities and non-arts groups.

The S.C. Arts Commission’s county coordinator system was replaced with a model that seeks to connect constituents with assistance based on line of service rather than location. Please see the most common areas of interest listed below. 

Para Español
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Grants

For constituents with an existing grant or submitted application.

If you’re seeking advisement on submitting an application, please find the appropriate program contact below.

Grants Office grants@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8695

Accessibility
Julia M. Brown-DuBose jbrown@arts.sc.gov 803.734.0445

Artist Services

For artists/artist collectives of all disciplines seeking advisement on Artists U, Artists’ Ventures Initiatives, S.C. Arts Commission Fellowships, the South Carolina Novel Prize, and more.

Ce Scott-Fitts cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8203

Arts Directory
Ann H.N. McBride amcbride@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8766

Arts Education
Catherine Ntube cntube@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8694

Arts Organizations
Catherine Ntube cntube@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8694

Community Arts Development

For groups seeking advisement on community arts grants and programs.

Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764
Susan DuPlessis sduplessis@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

Folk Heritage Awards
Jane Przybysz jprzybys@mailbox.sc.edu 803.777.7251

Folklife & Traditional Arts
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Government/Legislative Affairs

For staff serving the executive or legislative branches of government and seeking assistance from the S.C. Arts Commission.

David Platts dplatts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764
Milly Hough mhough@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

Media Inquiries or Public Information/Relations
Jason Rapp jrapp@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8899

Poetry Out Loud
Bonita Peeples bpeeples@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8692

South Carolina Cultural Districts
Jason Rapp jrapp@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8899

South Carolina Governor’s Awards for the Arts
Milly Hough mhough@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

 

S.C. Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts
Ce Scott-Fitts cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8203

Can’t find what you need?

Please browse the “Staff Listing By Name” section of this page, see the program-specific pages on this website, or contact:

General Inquiries info@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8696

The South Carolina Arts Commission requests that you not contact staff with direct solicitation.

Our team

David joined the South Carolina Arts Commission team as the executive director in 2019.

For 26 years prior, David worked in South Carolina as an educator, principal and district level administrator. He served as the arts and sciences coordinator for Lancaster County School District, a position he held for 15 years.

In addition to his work as an educator, Platts has served the Lancaster County Council of the Arts as a board member and president. He has statewide experience as a member, president, and treasurer of the Palmetto State Arts Education board and as a past member of the South Carolina Arts Alliance board, where he became active as an arts advocate. On the national level, David served as a member of the Education Advisory Committee for the John F. Kennedy Center’s Partners in Education Program, and he is currently a member of the South Arts board.

David keeps his own artistic expression fresh by serving as a volunteer accompanist for church choral programs.

David Platts
803.734.8689
dplatts@arts.sc.gov

  • Executive Director

Milly Hough
803.734.8698
mhough@arts.sc.gov

  • Senior Deputy Director

Ashley Brown
803.734.8630
cabrown@arts.sc.gov

  • Deputy Director

Nick Boismenu
803.734.0014
nboismenu@arts.sc.gov

  • Collections & Facility Coordinator

Angela Brewbaker
803.734.8759
abrewbaker@arts.sc.gov

  • Finance Director

Julia M. Brown-DuBose
803.734.0445
jbrown@arts.sc.gov

Susan DuPlessis
803.734.8693
sduplessis@arts.sc.gov

  • Community Arts Development Director
  • Local Arts Agency Liaison

Kevin Flarisee
803.734.8687
kflarisee@arts.sc.gov

  • Coordinator for Executive, Program & Department Support
  • Procurement Officer

Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D.
803.734.8764
lgreen@arts.sc.gov

  • Program Specialist for Community Arts & Folklife

Cathy Lee
803.734.8674
clee@arts.sc.gov

  • Information Technology Director
  • Grants Coordinator

Ann H.N. McBride
803.734.8766
amcbride@arts.sc.gov

  • Executive Coordinator
  • Arts Directory Coordinator

Victoria P. McCurry
803.734.8315
vmccurry@arts.sc.gov

  • Human Resources & Facilities Director

Kimberly Washburn Motte
803.734.8694
kmotte@arts.sc.gov

  • Arts Learning Director

Amanda Noyes
803.734.8675
anoyes@arts.sc.gov

  • K-12 Coordinator

Bonita Peeples
803.734.8692
bpeeples@arts.sc.gov

  • Poetry Out Loud Coordinator

Laurel Posey
803.734.8756
lposey@arts.sc.gov

  • Communications and Constituent Services Manager

Jason L. Rapp
803.734.8899
jrapp@arts.sc.gov

  • Communications Director
  • Program Director for South Carolina Cultural Districts

Abigail E. Rawl
803.734.8680
arawl@arts.sc.gov

  • The Art of Community: Rural SC Coordinator

Ce Scott-Fitts
803.734.8203
cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov

  • Artist Development Director

Amber Westbrook
803.734.8803
awestbrook@arts.sc.gov

  • Grants Coordinator

Are you interested in joining the SCAC team? Find out more about current openings on the jobs page.