South Carolina Arts Commission

South Carolina Arts Commission

Staff

Whom We Serve

Program directors and coordinators on the Arts Commission’s team of arts professionals are assigned to specific lines of service or programs that can provide targeted help to South Carolina’s:

  • artists,
  • community arts providers,
  • educational institutions and arts education providers,
  • and local communities and non-arts groups.

The S.C. Arts Commission’s county coordinator system was replaced with a new model that seeks to connect constituents with assistance based on line of service rather than location. Please see the most common areas of interest listed below. 

Para Español
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Grants

For constituents with an existing grant or submitted application. If you’re seeking advisement on submitting an application, please find the appropriate program contact below.

Grants Office grants@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8695

Accessibility
Julia M. Brown-DuBose jbrown@arts.sc.gov 803.734.0445

Artist Services

For artists/artist collectives of all disciplines seeking advisement on Artists U, Artists’ Ventures Initiatives, S.C. Arts Commission Fellowships, the South Carolina Novel Prize, and more.

Ce Scott-Fitts cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8203

Arts Directory
Bonita Peeples bpeeples@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8692

Arts Education
Ashley Brown cabrown@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8630

Arts Organizations*
Ashley Brown cabrown@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8630

* Non-visual arts organizations. Visual arts organizations listing below.


Community Arts Development

For groups seeking advisement on community arts grants and programs.

Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764
Susan DuPlessis sduplessis@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

Folk Heritage Awards
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Folklife & Traditional Arts
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Government/Legislative Affairs

For staff serving the executive or legislative branches of government and seeking assistance from the S.C. Arts Commission.

Davd Platts dplatts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764
Milly Hough mhough@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

Media Inquiries or Public Information/Relations
Jason Rapp jrapp@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8899

Poetry Out Loud
Bonita Peeples bpeeples@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8692

South Carolina Cultural Districts
Jason Rapp jrapp@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8899

Verner Awards
Milly Hough mhough@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

Visual Arts Organizations

For visual arts organizations seeking advisement or inquiries on exhibiting and other questions related to the State Art Collection.

Harriett Green hgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8762

S.C. Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts
Harriett Green hgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8762

Can’t find what you need?

Please browse the “Staff Listing By Name” section of this page, see the program-specific pages on this website, or contact:

General Inquiries info@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8696

The South Carolina Arts Commission requests that you not contact staff with direct solicitation.

David Platts
803.734.8689
dplatts@arts.sc.gov

  • Executive Director

Milly Hough
803.734.8698
mhough@arts.sc.gov

  • Senior Deputy Director

Ashley Brown
803.734.8630
cabrown@arts.sc.gov

  • Deputy Director
  • Arts Education Director

Juanda Arnett
803.734.8696
jarnett@arts.sc.gov

  • Afternoon Receptionist

Nick Boismenu
803.734.0014
nboismenu@arts.sc.gov

  • Visual Arts Program Assistant

Angela Brewbaker
803.734.8759
abrewbaker@arts.sc.gov

  • Finance Director

Julia M. Brown-DuBose
803.734.0445
jbrown@arts.sc.gov

Susan DuPlessis
803.734.8693
sduplessis@arts.sc.gov

  • Community Arts Development Director
  • Local Arts Agency Liaison

D’Juana Ferguson
803.734.8695
dferguson@arts.sc.gov

  • Administrative Assistant
  • Morning Receptionist

Kevin Flarisee
803.734.8687
kflarisee@arts.sc.gov

  • Coordinator for Executive, Program & Department Support
  • Procurement Officer

Harriett Green
803.734.8762
hgreen@arts.sc.gov

  • Program Director for Visual Arts

Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D.
803.734.8764
lgreen@arts.sc.gov

  • Program Specialist for Community Arts & Folklife

Cathy Lee
803.734.8674
clee@arts.sc.gov

  • Information Technology Director
  • Grants Coordinator

Ann H.N. McBride
803.734.8766
amcbride@arts.sc.gov

  • Coordinator for Program & Project Support

Victoria P. McCurry
803.734.8315
vmccurry@arts.sc.gov

  • Human Resources & Facilities Director

Bonita Peeples
803.734.8692
bpeeples@arts.sc.gov

  • Arts Directory Coordinator
  • Poetry Out Loud Coordinator

Laurel Posey
803.734.8756
lposey@arts.sc.gov

  • Communications and Constituent Services Manager

Jason L. Rapp
803.734.8899
jrapp@arts.sc.gov

  • Communications Director
  • Program Director for South Carolina Cultural Districts

Ce Scott-Fitts
803.734.8203
cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov

  • Program Director for Artist Services

Amber Westbrook
803.734.8695
awestbrook@arts.sc.gov

  • Assistant Grants Coordinator

The ABC Project

The Arts in Basic Curriculum (ABC) Project is a collaborative effort funded by the Arts Commission, the S.C. Department of Education, and Winthrop University.

803.323.2451
803.323.2554 (fax)
Winthrop University
105 McLaurin Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733

Dr. Kim Wilson
wilsonki@winthrop.edu

  • Executive Director

Kelly Hall
hallk@winthrop.edu

  • Program Specialist

Cheryl Taylor
taylorc@winthrop.edu

  • Business Operations Manager

Arts Access South Carolina

Arts Access South Carolina works to promote quality and accessible art experiences for people with all types of disabilities throughout the state of South Carolina.

Julia M. Brown-DuBose
803.734.0445
jbrown@arts.sc.gov

  • Executive Director

Are you interested in joining the SCAC team? Find out more about current openings on the jobs page.