South Carolina Arts Commission

South Carolina Arts Commission

Staff

How we serve

As this website was designed to serve visitors based on how they engage with the SCAC, so too is the agency’s service model.

Previously, a location-based system directed constituents to staff serving as county coordinators.  Constituents can now elect to seek advisement or assistance from arts professionals serving as program directors and coordinators in these primary lines of service (and more):

  • Grants
  • Artist Development
  • Arts Industry (non and for-profit arts organizations)
  • Arts Learning (all ages)
  • Community Arts
  • Folklife & Traditional Arts

Whom we serve

  • artists,
  • community arts providers,
  • educational institutions and arts learning providers,
  • and local communities and non-arts groups.

 

The S.C. Arts Commission’s county coordinator system was replaced with a model that seeks to connect constituents with assistance based on line of service rather than location. Please see the most common areas of interest listed below. 

Para Español
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Grants

For constituents with an existing grant or submitted application.

If you’re seeking advisement on submitting an application, please find the appropriate program contact below.

Grants Office grants@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8695

Accessibility
Amanda Noyes anoyes@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8675

Artist Development

For artists/artist collectives of all disciplines seeking advisement on Artists U, Artists’ Ventures Initiatives, Emerging Artists, S.C. Arts Commission Fellowships, the South Carolina Novel Series, and more.

Ce Scott-Fitts cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8203

Arts Directory
Amanda Noyes anoyes@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8675

Arts Learning

Teachers and Schools

Amanda Noyes anoyes@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8675

 

Districts and Community Organizations

Kimberly Washburn Motte kmotte@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8694

Arts Organizations
La Ruchala Murphy lmurphy@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8762

Community Arts/The Art of Community: Rural SC

For groups seeking advisement on community arts grants and programs.

Abby Rawl arawl@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8680

Folk Heritage Awards
Jane Przybysz jprzybys@mailbox.sc.edu 803.777.7251

Folklife & Traditional Arts
Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D. lgreen@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764

Government/Legislative Affairs

For staff serving the executive or legislative branches of government and seeking assistance from the S.C. Arts Commission.

David Platts dplatts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8764
Milly Hough mhough@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

Media Inquiries or Public Information/Relations
Jason Rapp jrapp@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8899

Poetry Out Loud
Bonita Peeples bpeeples@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8692

South Carolina Cultural Districts
Jason Rapp jrapp@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8899

South Carolina Governor’s Awards for the Arts
Milly Hough mhough@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8693

S.C. Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts
Ce Scott-Fitts cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8203

Can’t find what you need?

Please browse the “Staff Listing By Name” section of this page, see the program-specific pages on this website, or contact:

General Inquiries info@arts.sc.gov 803.734.8696

The South Carolina Arts Commission requests that you not contact staff with direct solicitation.

Our team

David joined the South Carolina Arts Commission team as the executive director in 2019.

For 26 years prior, David worked in South Carolina as an educator, principal and district level administrator. He served as the arts and sciences coordinator for Lancaster County School District, a position he held for 15 years.

In addition to his work as an educator, Platts has served the Lancaster County Council of the Arts as a board member and president. He has statewide experience as a member, president, and treasurer of the Palmetto State Arts Education board and as a past member of the South Carolina Arts Alliance board, where he became active as an arts advocate. On the national level, David served as a member of the Education Advisory Committee for the John F. Kennedy Center’s Partners in Education Program, and he is currently a member of the South Arts board.

David keeps his own artistic expression fresh by serving as a volunteer accompanist for church choral programs.

David Platts
803.734.8689
dplatts@arts.sc.gov

  • Executive Director

Milly Hough
803.734.8698
mhough@arts.sc.gov

  • Senior Deputy Director

Ashley Brown
803.734.8630
cabrown@arts.sc.gov

  • Deputy Director

Nick Boismenu
803.734.0014
nboismenu@arts.sc.gov

  • Collections & Facility Coordinator

Angela Brewbaker
803.734.8759
abrewbaker@arts.sc.gov

  • Finance Director

Kevin Flarisee
803.734.8687
kflarisee@arts.sc.gov

  • Coordinator for Executive, Program & Department Support
  • Procurement Officer

Laura Marcus Green, Ph.D.
803.734.8764
lgreen@arts.sc.gov

  • Folklife & Traditional Arts Director

Krista Grendze
803.734.8695
kgrendze@arts.sc.gov

  • Assistant Grants Coordinator

Daphne Hudson
803.734.8699
dhudson@arts.sc.gov

  • Accountant

Victoria P. McCurry
803.734.8315
vmccurry@arts.sc.gov

  • Human Resources & Facilities Director

Kimberly Washburn Motte
803.734.8694
kmotte@arts.sc.gov

  • Arts Learning Director

La Ruchala Murphy
803.734.8762
lmurphy@arts.sc.gov

  • Arts Industry Director

Amanda Noyes
803.734.8675
anoyes@arts.sc.gov

  • K-12 Coordinator
  • Coordinator for Accessibility

Bonita Peeples
803.734.8692
bpeeples@arts.sc.gov

  • Poetry Out Loud Coordinator

Laurel Posey
803.734.8756
lposey@arts.sc.gov

  • Communications & Constituent Services Manager

Jason L. Rapp
803.734.8899
jrapp@arts.sc.gov

  • Communications Director
  • Program Director for South Carolina Cultural Districts

Abigail E. Rawl
803.734.8680
arawl@arts.sc.gov

  • The Art of Community: Rural SC Coordinator

Ce Scott-Fitts
803.734.8203
cscottfitts@arts.sc.gov

  • Artist Development Director

Margot Lane Strasburger
803.734.8253
mstrasburger@arts.sc.gov

  • Digital Content Manager

Amber Westbrook
803.734.8803
awestbrook@arts.sc.gov

  • Grants Manager

Are you interested in joining the SCAC team? Find out more about current openings on the jobs page.