South Carolina Arts Commission

South Carolina Novel Series

books laid out on a table spine side up

Every other year, the South Carolina Novel Series recognizes one of South Carolina’s exceptional writers.

Submissions will next be accepted in January 2024.

Writers selected for publication in this series are awarded $1,500 and book publication, including marketing and tour support from Hub City Press and the series partners, as well as placement in all South Carolina state libraries and readings/events with presenting sponsors.

The South Carolina Novel Series is a partnership of the South Carolina Arts Commission, Hub City Press, South Carolina Humanities and the South Carolina State Library.

How the series works

The series is open to writers of all levels who have lived in South Carolina for at least one year prior to submission of their manuscript.  Submissions for the series opened Jan. 1, 2022 and closed April 15, 2022.

  • The winner of the 2022 South Carolina Novel Series is Robert Maynor for his debut novel, The Big Game is Every Night.  

    The novel is scheduled for publication by Hub City Press in 2023.

    Robert Maynor is from the Lowcountry of South Carolina. He lives and writes in a patched-up fish camp on the bank of the Edisto River, the longest free-flowing blackwater river in North America. His fiction explores the spectrum of complexities and contradictions in the contemporary American South. His short stories have appeared in Blood Orange Review, BULL, the Carolina Quarterly, and CRAFT, among other outlets. His work has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, and he is the past recipient of the Larry Brown Short Story Award and the Coker Fellowship in Fiction from the South Carolina Academy of Authors. The Big Game Is Every Night is his first novel.