South Carolina Arts Commission

South Carolina Arts Commission

2020 Livestream

Streaming live Monday, July 13 at 5:30 p.m. ET

South Carolina Arts Commission Executive Director David Platts and University of South Carolina McKissick Museum Executive Director Jane Przybysz are joined by S.C. First Lady Peggy McMaster at the Governor’s Mansion to honor 11 exceptional recipients of the 2020 South Carolina Arts Awards.

Elizabeth O’Neill Verner Governor’s Awards for the Arts

  • LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT: Dr. Philip Mullen, Columbia
  • ARTIST: Glenis Redmond, Mauldin
  • INDIVIDUAL: Mary Inabinett Mack, St. Helena Island
  • ARTS IN EDUCATION: Cindy Riddle, Campobello
  • BUSINESS: United Community Bank, Greenville
  • ORGANIZATION: Charleston Gaillard Center, Charleston

Jean Laney Harris Folk Heritage Award

  • Kristin Scott Benson (Boiling Springs): Bluegrass Banjo
  • David Galloway (Seneca): Spiritual Gospel Singing
  • Voices of El Shaddai (Hilton Head Island/Bluffton area): Lowcountry Gospel Music
  • Judy Twitty (Gilbert): Quilting
  • Vennie Deas Moore (Georgetown): Folklore and Cultural Preservation

Unable to join the livestream?

The virtual presentation will be available for on-demand viewing on the S.C. Arts Commission YouTube Channel after July 13.

Celebrating with others?
The South Carolina Arts Commission and University of South Carolina McKissick Museum urge you to gather responsibly in this time of pandemic. Here are tips to protect the health and safety of yourself and others from the S.C. Department of Health & Environmental Control.