Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

The Elizabeth O'Neill Verner Awards

2010 Recipients

The South Carolina Arts Commission Board announces the 2010 Elizabeth O’Neill Verner Governor’s Awards for the Arts, the highest honor the state presents in the arts. Established in 1972, the annual awards recognize outstanding achievement and contributions to the arts in South Carolina.


This year’s recipients are:



“South Carolina is filled with awe-inspiring artists, astounding arts professionals and arts supporters,” said S.C. Arts Commission Board Chairman Bud Ferillo. “This year’s recipients are an excellent representation of this reality, and we are honored to recognize these top arts achievers for their outstanding commitment to the arts and dedication to our state.”


Awards will be presented May 6 at the Statehouse upon adjournment of the House of Representatives. To celebrate this year’s recipients and South Carolina’s entire arts community, the S.C. Arts Foundation is presenting the S.C. Arts Gala at 7 p.m. that evening at the Columbia Museum of Art. Tickets are available online.