Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

SC Arts Commission Press Releases

S.C. Arts Commission Board Welcomes New Member, Elects New Officers


July 1, 2010

Media Contacts:

Milly Hough
(803) 734-8698


Misty Moore

(803) 734-8620

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Arts Commission Board welcomes newly appointed board member Delores "Dee" Crawford, an Aiken entrepreneur and active philanthropist, and announces its 2010-2011 officers.


Governor Mark Sanford appointed Crawford to the Arts Commission Board. Among her many volunteer positions, Crawford serves on the boards of Julliard in Aiken and the Center for African-American History, Art, and Culture of Aiken Regional Medical Centers. A successful entrepreneur, she is president of a McDonald's organization that includes five restaurants with more than 250 employees.


"Mrs. Crawford's business acumen and advisory experience make her an outstanding asset to our board," said S.C. Arts Commission Executive Director Ken May. "We are thankful to have her and our newly elected officers to help guide our efforts. At a time when the arts community is facing uncertain economic conditions, their leadership is crucial to our continued success."


Officers for the 2011 fiscal year are:  Dr. Sarah Lynn Hayes of Rock Hill, chair; Henry Horowitz of Greenville, vice chair; Elizabeth Factor of Charleston, executive committee; and Bud Ferillo of Columbia, immediate past chair. 


Hayes, who served as vice chair in 2010, is director of the Central Child Development Center, which serves 350 at-risk four-year-olds in Rock Hill schools. She also co-owns Events per se, an event planning and management company in Rock Hill, and is past president of Arts Council of York County and former director of Fine Arts/ Gifted Programs for the Rock Hill schools.


Horowitz is the co-founder and principal managing partner of Oxford Capital Partners LLC, a real estate investment firm in Greenville and Dallas, Texas. He is also a managing member of MedProperties Holdings LLC, a private equity firm in Dallas. Previously, he served in various executive management roles with Insignia Financial Group. Horowitz is a founder of Artisphere Festival and former chair of Metropolitan Arts Council, both based in Greenville.


Factor, a resident of Charleston, previously worked as an investment banker and tax counsel to Babcock & Brown LP in New York City. Factor has been involved with such arts organizations as The Drawing Center, an internationally renowned museum of works on paper, and the Whitney Museum of American Art, both in New York City. With her husband, Mallory, and Charleston's Gibbes Museum, she established the Factor Prize in Southern Art in 2007 to recognize visual artists whose work has contributed to a new understanding of the South. 


Ferillo is president of Ferillo & Associates Inc., a public relations and advertising firm in Columbia. He served as chair of Arts Commission Board in 2010 and served as vice chair from 2006 to 2009. Ferillo served as the executive director of the Office of House Research and Personnel for the S.C. House of Representatives from 1974 to 1982, and was the deputy lieutenant governor of S.C. from 1982 to 1986. 


The Arts Commission Board is composed of nine volunteer citizens appointed at large for three-year terms by the governor and confirmed by the senate for the purpose of guiding the development of the arts in the state. Commissioners are residents of South Carolina who are selected for their practice of, participation in or support of the creative and interpretive arts. The Commissioners attend grant panel meetings and meet regularly to take action on funding and formulating policy for the Arts Commission.


About S.C. Arts Commission:
The South Carolina Arts Commission is the state agency charged with creating a thriving arts environment that benefits all South Carolinians, regardless of their location or circumstances. Created by the South Carolina General Assembly in 1967, the Arts Commission is celebrating 40 years of increasing public participation in the arts by providing services, grants and leadership initiatives in three areas: arts education, community arts development and artist development. Headquartered in Columbia, S.C., the Arts Commission is funded by the state of South Carolina and by the federal government through the National Endowment for the Arts. For more information, visit www.SouthCarolinaArts.com or call (803) 734-8696.