Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

SC Arts Commission Press Releases

S.C. Arts Commission Announces FY2011 Artist Fellowships


June 23, 2010

Media Contacts:

Milly Hough
(803) 734-8698


Misty Moore

(803) 734-8620

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Arts Commission Board has approved the panel's selections for the FY2011 Individual Artist Fellowship Awards. The Arts Commission is presenting awards of $5,000 to four South Carolina artists—in the categories of poetry, prose, playwriting and acting.


This year's fellows are:
Poetry: Barbara G.S. Hagerty, Charleston County
Prose: Ed Madden, Richland County
Playwriting: Rodney Lee Rogers, Charleston County
Acting: Sharon Graci, Charleston County


"It is rewarding to honor the work of artists who are central to the creative community in our state," said S.C. Arts Commission Executive Director Ken May. "We're fortunate to have funds to award this year, thanks to the generous contribution from the South Carolina Arts Foundation, and we're pleased to offer those resources to our artist fellows who can use them to advance their careers."


The board of the S.C. Arts Commission approves fellowships based on recommendations made by out-of-state review panelists, who select fellows and alternates based solely on their review of anonymous work samples. This year's poetry panelist was Alan Shapiro, an English and creative writing professor at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The prose panelist was Martha Southgate, an adjunct professor in the M.F.A. Writing Program at Brooklyn College. The playwriting panelist was Tracy Nichols, an assistant professor in the Department of Communication, Theatre and Dance at Austin Peay State University. Acting panelists were Tennessee State Arts Commission staffers, Hal Partlow, director of performing arts, and Kim Leavitt, director of arts education.


The South Carolina Arts Foundation, a nonprofit organization supporting the education and arts development programs of the S.C. Arts Commission, funded three of the four fellowships awarded this year. Individual artists working in visual arts, craft, music performance and music composition can apply for the FY2012 Individual Artist Fellowship Awards. The deadline to apply is Oct. 1.


About S.C. Arts Commission:
The South Carolina Arts Commission is the state agency charged with creating a thriving arts environment that benefits all South Carolinians, regardless of their location or circumstances. Created by the South Carolina General Assembly in 1967, the Arts Commission is celebrating 40 years of increasing public participation in the arts by providing services, grants and leadership initiatives in three areas: arts education, community arts development and artist development. Headquartered in Columbia, S.C., the Arts Commission is funded by the state of South Carolina and by the federal government through the National Endowment for the Arts. For more information, visit www.SouthCarolinaArts.com or call (803) 734-8696.