Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

SC Arts Commission Press Releases

South Carolina to Honor 2010 Folk Heritage Award Winners


April 4, 2010

Media Contacts:

Milly Hough
(803) 734-8698


Misty Moore

(803) 734-8620

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Arts Commission and the McKissick Museum at the University of South Carolina announce Harold Wayne Turner of Pickens and Freddie Vanderford of Buffalo as the 2010 Jean Laney Harris Folk Heritage Award recipients. The S.C. State Legislature will present the awards following a session of the House on May 6 in the Statehouse.


Turner is being recognized for his skills and dedication to the tradition of building stringed instruments.  Vanderford is being recognized for maintaining and sharing the tradition of the Piedmont Blues harp. 


A reception will take place from 6-8 p.m. at McKissick Museum on Wed., May 5 to celebrate the recipients’ artistic excellence and lifetime commitment to the preservation and promotion of traditions rooted in place and community.  The reception will take place in the second floor lobby of the museum.  Dress is “come as you are.”


The Folk Heritage Award is named for the late Jean Laney Harris, an ardent supporter of the state's cultural heritage. The award was created by the legislature in 1987 to recognize lifetime achievement in the folk arts. The artistic traditions represented by the award are significant because they have endured, often for hundreds of years.


For more information about the May 5 reception or the May 6 awards ceremony, contact Jill Koverman, McKissick Museum, at (803) 777-7251 or Julianne Carroll, S.C. Arts Commission, at (803) 734-8764.


About the S.C. Arts Commission
The South Carolina Arts Commission is the state agency charged with creating a thriving arts environment that benefits all South Carolinians, regardless of their location or circumstances. Created by the South Carolina General Assembly in 1967, the Arts Commission works to increase public participation in the arts by providing services, grants and leadership initiatives in three areas: arts education, community arts development and artist development. Headquartered in Columbia, S.C., the Arts Commission is funded by the state of South Carolina, by the federal government through the National Endowment for the Arts and other sources. For more information, visit www.SouthCarolinaArts.com or call (803) 734-8696.