Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

Jean Laney Harris Folk Heritage Awards

2012 Recipients


The South Carolina Arts Commission and McKissick Museum at the University of South Carolina announce the 2012 Jean Laney Harris Folk Heritage Award recipients:



The S.C. State Legislature will present the awards upon adjournment in the House Chamber, midday on May 3 at the Statehouse.


Fiddle player Carder, of Leesville, gained a good deal of his knowledge from FHA recipient Pappy Sherrill and is being honored for his skills and dedication in maintaining a valued community tradition.  Grant, of Georgetown, learned to make hammocks from his aunt and is being recognized for maintaining and sharing the tradition of hammock making.  Ferrell, of Edgefield, is being recognized for his unyielding promotion of the alkaline-glazed stoneware pottery tradition.


Following the Statehouse ceremony a reception will be held at the Capstone House on the campus of the University of South Carolina.  This informal event gives supporters and the general public the opportunity to celebrate the recipients’ artistic skills and lifetime commitment to the preservation and promotion of traditions rooted in place and community.  The reception will take place on the 18th floor. 


The Folk Heritage Award is named for the late Jean Laney Harris, an ardent supporter of the state's cultural heritage. The award was created by the legislature in 1987 to recognize lifetime achievement in the folk arts. The artistic traditions represented by the award are significant because they have endured, often for hundreds of years.

About the Folk Heritage Awards


For more information about the Folk Heritage Awards, please contact Laura Marcus Green (803-734-8764), South Carolina Folklife & Traditional Arts Program Director.