Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file

SC Arts Commission Grant Awards

S.C. Arts Commission Names FY2013 Artist Fellowships


The South Carolina Arts Commission Board of Commissioners has approved the Fiscal Year 2013 Individual Artist Fellowship Award recipients. This year, the Arts Commission is presenting awards totaling $15,000 to three South Carolina artists—in the categories of prose, poetry, and dance choreography. Fellows each receive $5,000 in recognition of their superior artistic merit.


The year's fellows are:

Prose: Kathryn Etters Lovatt, Kershaw County
Poetry: Nancy Ancrom, Richland County
Dance Choreography: Marcy Jo Yonkey-Clayton, Lexington County


The S.C. Arts Commission board approves fellowships based on recommendations made by out-of-state review panelists, who select fellows based solely on a review of anonymous work samples. Poetry judge Earl S. Braggs is the Herman H. Battle Professor of African American Studies of English at the University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, TN. Prose judge A. J. Verdelle is a distinguished faculty mentor in the MFA Creative Writing Program at Lesley University, Cambridge, MA. Dance Choreography judge Anna Leo is Associate Professor of Dance at Emory University in Atlanta, GA. Learn more about the judges >>


Individual artists working in visual arts, craft, media production, and media screenwriting can apply for the FY2014 fellowship awards. The deadline to apply is Nov. 1.


All S.C. Arts Commission grant awards are contingent upon availability of funds, submission and approval of final reports, and compliance with program grant guidelines. Additional grants are awarded throughout the year.


Note to grantees: Notification of your award is provided through posting on this website, which you may consider official confirmation of your award until your contract is issued.


Contracts are issued throughout the year, with contracts for full-year grants (July 1 to June 30) generally issued in late summer or early fall of the award year.