Home   :   About Us   :   What's New   :   Arts Calendar   :   The Hub   :   Contact Us   :   Foundation

Work by South Carolina Artists

Poet Laureate

The position of South Carolina Poet Laureate was established in 1934 by a Joint Resolution of the General Assembly. The laureate is appointed by the governor.

South Carolina's current Poet Laureate is Marjory Heath Wentworth, appointed by Governor Mark Sanford in 2003. Previous laureates include Archibald Rutledge (1934-1973), Helen von Kolnitz Hyer (1974-1983), Ennis Rees (1984-1985), Grace Freeman (1985-1986), and Bennie Lee Sinclair (1986-2000).

For more information: